Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board


  • 8:30 am
  • Third Tuesday of every month
  • Miller Building 1st Floor Conference Room, 2825 3rd Ave. North
  • 9 members, 2-year term
For more information, contact Lora Mattox at (406) 247-8622 

If you are interested in applying for the Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board (City seat) you can download an application.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda | View All

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All


close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel
close carousel

Rebecca Jeter - Inter-local

Term expires 12/31/2019

7944 Molt Road

Billings, MT  59106


Kevin Nelson - Inter-local

Term expires 12/31/19
3945 Parkwood Drive
Billings, MT 59106

Tracy Livingston - Inter-local

Term expires 12/31/2019
905 Lynwood Drive
Billings, MT 59102

Susan Mueller - Inter-local

Term expires 12/31/18
637 Lewis Avenue
Billings MT  59101

Evan Bruce - Laurel
Term expires 12/31/2018
105 E Main, Apt. #1

Laurel, MT  59044

Keith Edgerton - City of Billings

(Unexpired term of James Graff)
Term expires 12/31/19
1140 N. 32nd Street
Billings MT  59101

Allen Rapacz - Yellowstone County

First term expires 12/31/19
4840 Piegan Trail
Billings MT 59106

Blain Fandrich - Inter-local

Term expires 12/31/19
3120 Smokey Lane
Billings MT 59102

Vacant - Crow Tribe

Section 27-503
The Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board shall consist of nine members with a demonstrated interest, competence, and knowledge in historic preservation. The following five members shall be selected jointly by all signatories to the Interlocal Agreement establishing the Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board. Each signatory has one vote. In this selection process, the simple majority vote will prevail.

The board shall include at least three members with professional expertise in the disciplines of history, planning, archaeology, architecture, architectural history, or other historic preservation-related disciplines such as cultural geography or cultural anthropology. The Board shall also include two additional members from the following: one member of the Yellowstone County Board of Planning; one member of the Laurel Board of Planning; one property owner either residing or owning a business in a historic district or who owns property listed on the National Register of Historic Places; one member of a city/county preservation society.

The four remaining board members shall be considered "at-large" and shall consist of: one City of Billings resident appointed by the Billings City Council; one county resident appointed by the Yellowstone County Commissioners; one City of Laurel resident appointed by the Laurel City Council; one Crow Tribal member who lives within the Yellowstone County portion of the Crow Reservation or elsewhere within Yellowstone County appointed by the Crow Tribal Council.

The Yellowstone Historic Preservation Board shall establish by-laws conforming to the guidelines set forth in the "Certified Local Government Program in Montana." The Board shall maintain a system for the survey and inventory of historic and prehistoric properties, review and participate in all proposed National Register nominations with the City of Laurel, City of Billings, Crow Reservation and / or Yellowstone County, encourage public participation while assisting with the enforcement of appropriate state and local legislation concerning historic preservation, and review and comment on land use proposals and planning programs related to historic resources.