Library Board

Meetings usually take place on the second Thursday of each month at Noon in the Billings Public Library's second floor Yellowstone Board Room. Find more information about the Library Board.

The Library Board consists of:
  • 6 City members, 4-year term
  • 3 County members, 5-year term

If you are interested in applying for the Library Board you can download an application.

 Agendas & Minutes
Agendas are available prior to the meetings.
Most Recent Agenda
View All

Minutes are available following approval.
Most Recent Minutes | View All

Sue Bach - City
Second term expires 12/31/21*

David Darby, Vice-Chair - City
(406) 656-1939
First term expires 12/31/22

Cheryle Fisher, Chair - County
Second term expires 6/30/20

Trudi Paulson - City
First term expires 12/31/21

Andrea Horrell - City
First term expires 12/31/23

Peggy McSweyn, Chair - County
(406) 373-6339
First term (partial) expires 6/30/22

Jennifer Smith - City

(Unexpired term of Jennifer Quinn)
Term expires 12/31/21

Lloyd Mickelson - City
 First term expires 12/31/21

Roger Young - County
Second term expires 3/31/26

Section 16-201-204
The primary role of the Library Board is to advocate for the Library. The Library Board shall prepare a three-year plan for Library services and programs by January 1 of each year, to serve as direction for Library staff for preparation of the Library budget for the following and future fiscal years. The Library Board shall be responsible for annual review, revision and approval of all Library policies relating to public services, programs and use of Library, subject to submission no later than March 1 of each year to the City Attorney’s office for legal review, for implementation by July 1, the beginning of each fiscal year.The City Administrator shall consult with the Library Board, and the Library Board shall provide input, on all matters relating to the hiring and evaluation of the Library Director.